Biocides and Plant Protection Products Section

The section

  • is responsible for assessing the environmental risks posed by biocides and plant protection products as part of the authorisation procedure (with the exception of products containing micro- and macro-organisms as active substances, which are assessed by the Biotechnology Section);
  • is responsible for the protection of the ozone layer, in particular for the implementation of the Montreal Protocol in Switzerland;
  • is responsible for legislation and implementation concerning synthetic climate gases (substances stable in atmosphere) and coordinates measures together with climate protection;
  • is responsible for the implementation and modification of specific annexes of the Ordinance on Risk Reduction related to Chemical Products, in relation to e.g. asbestos, plastics, solvents and refrigerants.

Topic within this section:

Personnel

Christoph Moor

Christoph Moor
Position:
head of section
Tasks: Administrative and technical management of the section, Good Laboratory Practice (GLP)
Tel.: +41 58 462 93 84
E-mail: christoph.moor@bafu.admin.ch

Henry Wöhrnschimmel
Position: deputy head of section
Tasks: Implementation of the ORRChem in the area of ozone depleting substances and substances stable in the atmosphere, refrigerants, Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, environmental risk assessment of biocidal products
Tel.: +41 58 463 17 20
E-Mail: henry.woehrnschimmel@bafu.admin.ch

Michael Aeschbacher
Tasks: Environmental risk assessment of biocidal products, Good Laboratory Practice (GLP), Pollutant register SwissPRTR
E-mail: michael.aeschbacher@bafu.admin.ch

Annette Aldrich
Tasks: Environmental risk assessment of plant protection products
E-mail: annette.aldrich@bafu.admin.ch

Maria a Marca
Tasks: Environmental risk assessment of biocidal products and plant protection products
E-mail: maria.a-marca@bafu.admin.ch

Rebekka Baumgartner
Tasks:
 Environmental risk assessment of biocidal products
E-mail: rebekka.baumgartner@bafu.admin.ch

Amandine Courdouan Merz
Tasks: Environmental risk assessment of biocidal products
E-Mail: amandine.courdouanmerz@bafu.admin.ch

Roger Gauch
Tasks: Environmental risk assessment of plant protection products
E-mail: roger.gauch@bafu.admin.ch

Alexandre Gurba
Tasks: 
Environmental risk assessment of biocidal products and plant protection products
E-mail: alexandre.gurba@bafu.admin.ch

Tenzing Gyalpo
Tasks:
 Environmental risk assessment of biocidal products
E-mail: tenzing.gyalpo@bafu.admin.ch

Muris Korkaric
Tasks:
 Environmental risk assessment of plant protection products
E-mail: muris.korkaric@bafu.admin.ch

Petra Kunz
Tasks:
 Environmental risk assessment of biocidal products, OECD Test Guidelines, implementation of ORRChem in the field of asbestos
E-mail: petra.kunz@bafu.admin.ch

Flavio Malaguerra
Tasks: Implementation of the ORRChem in the area of ozone depleting substances and substances stable in the atmosphere, refrigerants, Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, environmental risk assessment of biocidal products and plant protection products
E-mail: flavio.malaguerra@bafu.admin.ch

Roland Ritter
Tasks: Pollutant register SwissPRTR 
E-mail: roland.ritter@bafu.admin.ch

Contact
Last modification 02.02.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Air Pollution Control and Chemicals Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Monbijoustrasse 40, 3003 Bern

Tel.: 
+41 58 463 16 00

E-mail Air pollution control

E-mail Chemicals

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/air-pollution-control-and-chemicals-division/biocides-and-plant-protection-products-section.html