Wildlife conservation Section

This section

  • prepares bases, concepts, action plans and enforcement aids for species protection and conservation as well as for wildlife management
  • manages implementation and enforcement of the law on hunting and conservation of native mammals and birds
  • manages the federal wildlife reserves, water and migratory bird reserves of national and international importance and programme agreements with the cantons on wildlife conservation areas
  • ensures the protection and conservation of native mammals and birds and their habitats
  • manages national information centres on species promotion
  • manages livestock protection
  • supervises sustainability in relation to hunting use
  • manages the international conventions and international cooperation on mammal and bird conservation.

Section topics:

Personnel

Reinhard Schnidrig

Reinhard Schnidrig
Position: head of section, deputy head of division
Responsibilities: section management, legislative development, species promotion concepts, large carnivore management, international cooperation
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 07
E-mail: reinhard.schnidrig@bafu.admin.ch

Martin Baumann
Position: deputy head of section
Responsibilities:
sustainability in relation to hunting use, advice to the cantons, livestock protection
Tel.: +41 58 464 78 33
E-mail: martin.baumann@bafu.admin.ch

Nicolas Bourquin
Responsibilities: Livestock protection
Tel.: +41 58 462 80 13
E-mail: nicolas.bourquin@bafu.admin.ch

Thomas Gerner
Responsibilities: undisturbed wildlife areas, animal health, animal conservation, conservation area marking
Tel.: +41 58 464 78 48
E-mail: thomas.gerner@bafu.admin.ch

Sabine Herzog
Responsibilities: JSG conservation areas, wildlife conservation area programme agreements, subsidies under JSG, international cooperation
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 40
E-mail: sabine.herzog@bafu.admin.ch

Danielle Hofmann
Responsibilities: species promotion, red lists, national information centres on species promotion, bird protection
Tel.: +41 58 462 91 52
E-mail: danielle.hofmann@bafu.admin.ch

Mirjam Pewsner
Responsibilities: Large carnivores
Tel.: +41 58 46 938 43
E-mail: Mirjam.Pewsner@bafu.admin.ch

Claudine Winter
Responsibilities: Protection and use of mammals, hunting statistics
Tel.: +41 58 464 70 18
E-mail: claudine.winter@bafu.admin.ch

Contact
Last modification 01.05.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Biodiversity and Landscape Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Worblentalstrasse 68, 3063 Ittigen

Tel.: +41 58 462 93 89
Fax: +41 58 463 89 74

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/biodiversity-and-landscape-division/wildlife-conservation-section.html