Economics Section

This section

  • is the technical office for environmental economics and works on issues concerning the economic efficiency of environmental policy and on the economic value of environmental capital;
  • is responsible for the development and implementation of market-based economic instruments, in particular incitation charges according to the Law on Environmental Protection;
  • develops the basis for further important components of market-based environmental policy, for instance solutions through agreements and ecological tax reform;
  • supports the federal office in all matters concerning environmental economics and collaborates closely with other federal offices on questions of integrating environmental aspects in economic policy.

Topics:

Personnnel

Rolf Gurtner
Position:
head of section
Responsibilities: economic optimisation of environmental policy, Green economy
Tel.: +41 58 462 57 25
E-mail: rolf.gurtner@bafu.admin.ch

Andreas Hauser
Position:
deputy head of section
Responsibilities:
Development of targets and measurement of progress in relation to the green economy
Tel.: +41 58 462 79 15
E-mail: andreas.hauser@bafu.admin.ch

Jan-Aaron Klaassen
Responsibilities: Incentive tax on volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
Tel.: +41 58 461 44 42
E-mail: jan-aaron.klaassen@bafu.admin.ch

Niklas Nierhoff
Responsibilities: Green economy indicators, ecological footprints
Tel.: +41 58 466 79 15
E-mail: niklas.nierhoff@bafu.admin.ch

Basil Oberholzer
Responsibilities:
ecosystem services, natural capital
Tel.:
+41 58 460 58 64
E-mail:
basil.oberholzer@bafu.admin.ch

Philipp Röser
Responsibilities: Regulatory costs, further development of economic assessment of environmental measures (VOBU)
Tel.: +41 58 469 76 28
E-mail: philipp.roeser@bafu.admin.ch

Romina Schwarz
Responsibilities:
Sustainable Finance, market-based instruments
Tel.: +41 58 462 75 52
E-mail: romina.schwarz@bafu.admin.ch

Contact
Last modification 03.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Economics and Innovation Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Papiermühlestrasse 172, 3063 Ittigen

Tel.: +41 58 463 03 66
Fax: +41 58 462 99 81

E-mail 

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/economics-and-innovation-division/economics-section.html