Timber Industry & Forest Management Section

Section responsibilities

  • Wood Resource Policy, wood promotion through the Aktionsplan Holz (Wood Action Plan) and the Wald- und Holzforschungsfonds, WHFF (Forest and Wood Research Fund)
  • Contribution of wood to other sectoral goals, e.g. energy, climate, green economy/cleantech
  • Forestry sector monitoring and reporting
  • Forestry sector (including infrastructure)
  • Forest and wood value chain
  • Wood monitoring and reporting
  • Wood harvesting potential
  • Wood communications
  • Wood research
  • Wood energy
  • Economic aspects

Topic:

Personnel

Kammerhofer Alfred

Alfred W. Kammerhofer
Position:
head of section
Responsibilities: Innovations in the forestry and timber industry, Wood Resource Policy, wood forum, forest economics
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 08
E-mail: alfred.kammerhofer@bafu.admin.ch

Christian Aebischer
Responsibilities:
wood research and promotion, use of timber in construction and renovation, CO2 sink effect of wood products
Tel.: +41 58 485 00 58
E-mail: christian.aebischer@bafu.admin.ch

Matthias Biolley
Responsibilities:
Forest economics incl. infrastructure, forest/wood economy monitoring (forestry statistics, TBN test network), wood energy / national economic supply
Tel.: +41 58 485 08 69
E-mail: matthias.biolley@bafu.admin.ch

Ulrike Krafft
Responsibilities: Wood Resource Policy, co-programming of the Aktionsplan Holz (Wood Action Plan)
Tel.: +41 58 464 40 45
E-mail: ulrike.krafft@bafu.admin.ch

Marjo Kunnala
Responsibilities:
National Forest Inventory (NFI), forestry statistics on timber harvesting, wood utilisation potential in Swiss forests, CO2 sink effect of wood
Tel.: +41 58 481 05 97
E-mail: marjo.kunnala@bafu.admin.ch

Bernhard Rieder
Responsibilities: Administration of courses for forestry workers, basic statistical work on the forestry and timber industry, book-keeping for AP Holz and the Wald- und Holzforschungsfonds, WHFF (Forest and Wood Research Fund)
Tel.: +41 58 464 78 53
E-mail: bernhard.rieder@bafu.admin.ch

Achim Schafer
Responsibilities: Wood trade regulation (EUTR/CHTR, AOC, duty to declare), timber market, wood monitoring
Tel.: +41 58 469 17 96
E-mail: achim.schafer@bafu.admin.ch

Claire-Lise Suter Thalmann
Responsibilities: Co-director of programming for the Aktionsplan Holz (Wood Action Plan), wood communications, wood energy
Tel.: +41 58 464 78 58
E-mail: claire-lise.suter@bafu.admin.ch

Further information

Further information

Tel: +41 58 469 69 11

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Forest Division
CH-3003 Bern

Worblentalstrasse 68
3063 Ittigen

Contact
Last modification 01.09.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Forest Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Worblentalstrasse 68, 3063 Ittigen

Tel.: +41 58 469 69 11

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/forest-division/timber-industry---forest-management-section.html