Hydrological Forecasts Section

The Hydrological Forecasting Section is the federal service for short-term forecasting of water supply during normal and high water levels as well as issuing flood warnings

The section

  • runs an operational forecasting service that prepares daily reports on water conditions and runoff forecasts for the whole country;
  • provides continuous expert evaluations of current and forecasted situations of waterways of national interest;
  • coordinates with other federal, cantonal and international forecasting services;
  • is responsible for the technical operation of the FEWS system and all data flows;
  • develops operational forecasting at FOEN and integrates new forecasting systems into its operational processes;
  • participates in FOEN's critical situation control centre in the event of flooding and develops fundamental analyses for assessing situations;
  • conducts studies to analyse floods;
  • initiates, assists and conducts national and international hydrological forecasting research programs.

Section topic: current hydrological forecasts

Personnel

Bürgi-Therese-BAFU

Therese Bürgi
Position: head of section
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 73
E-mail: therese.buergi@bafu.admin.ch

Karsten Jasper
Position: deputy head of section
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasts, models
Tel.: +41 58 464 82 54
E-mail: karsten.jasper@bafu.admin.ch

Coralie Amiguet
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasts, customer advice and products
Tel.: +41 58 464 82 13
E-mail: coralie.amiguet@bafu.admin.ch

Robert Diezig
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasts, forecasting systems
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 51
E-mail: robert.diezig@bafu.admin.ch

Martin Ebel
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasts, models, forecasting systems
Tel.: +41 58 464 07 57
E-mail: martin.ebel@bafu.admin.ch

Philippe Gyarmati
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasts, quality assurance
Tel.: +41 58 464 28 37
E-mail: philippe.gyarmati@bafu.admin.ch

Andreas Helbling
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasting, Quality assurance
Tel.: +41 58 464 13 52
E-mail: andreas.helbling@bafu.admin.ch

Christophe Hug
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasting, Forecasting systems
Tel.: +41 58 462 92 97
E-mail: christophe.hug@bafu.admin.ch

David Volken
Responsibilities: Hydrological forecasts, customer advice and products, climate change
Tel.: +41 58 464 79 27
E-mail: david.volken@bafu.admin.ch

Contact
Last modification 09.05.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Hydrology Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Papiermühlestrasse 172, 3063 Ittigen

Tel.: +41 58 463 85 68
Fax: +41 58 464 76 81

E-mail 

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/hydrology-division/hydrological-forecasts-section.html