Hydrometry Section

The Hydrometry Section is the specialist federal service for hydrometry: planning, construction and main-tenance of all federal measuring stations (water quantity and quality), runoff/water levels (measuring and modelling), renewal of technology, contributes to other evaluations relating to the water cycle, coordination with the cantons and other partners

The section

  • is responsible for planning, constructing, operating, and maintaining all measuring stations on rivers, lakes, and in groundwater;
  • collects field data, particularly runoff measurements in instances of low, medium and high water levels; validates the data that are collected and calculated on a continuous basis;
  • compiles water level/runoff curves based on measurements and modelling and calculates extreme runoff;
  • operates alarm stations;
  • improves existing and develops new measuring methods and devices;provides hydrometric information and participates in studies;
  • represents Switzerland in international expert groups (standards organisations, WMO, etc.).  

Topic:

Personnel

Robert Lukes
Position: head of section
Tel.: +41 58 464 72 63
E-mail: robert.lukes@bafu.admin.ch

Fabian Stoller
Position: deputy head of section
Tasks: Management of hydrometric measuring stations, hydrometrical monitoring Emmental, Basel, North-east Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 39
E-mail: fabian.stoller@bafu.admin.ch

Olivia Berset
Tasks: Management of hydrometric measuring stations, hydrometrical monitoring Fribourg, Jura peripheral lakes
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 31
E-mail: olivia.berset@bafu.admin.ch

Andrea Crose
Tasks:
Management of hydrometric measuring stations, hydrometrical monitoring Ticino, Engadin
Tel.: +41 58 469 77 81
E-mail: andrea.crose@bafu.admin.ch

Jörg Hammer
Tasks: Management of hydrometric measuring stations, monitoring hydrology, eastern and central Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 464 19 06
E-mail: joerg.hammer@bafu.admin.ch

René Hayoz
Tasks: Technical Secretariat
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 34
E-mail: rene.hayoz@bafu.admin.ch

Hanspeter Hodel
Tasks: Management of hydrometric measuring stations, hydrometrical monitoring Central Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 33
E-mail: hanspeter.hodel@bafu.admin.ch

Andreas Kohler
Tasks: Management of hydrometric measuring stations, hydrometrical monitoring Graubünden, St Gallen Rheintal
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 32
E-mail: andreas.kohler@bafu.admin.ch

Eugène Lehmann
Tasks: Management of hydrometric measuring stations, hydrometrical monitoring Western Switzerland, Upper Valais
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 75
E-mail: eugene.lehmann@bafu.admin.ch

Karim Michel
Tasks: Management of hydrometric measuring stations, hydrometrical monitoring Bernese Oberland, Bern and sourroundings, Jura
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 38
E-mail: karim.michel@bafu.admin.ch

Wilhelm Tschannen
Tasks: Support hydrometric stations
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 35
E-mail: wilhelm.tschannen@bafu.admin.ch

Andreas Yao
Tasks: Support hydrometric stations
Tel.: +41 58 464 76 37
E-mail: andreas.yao@bafu.admin.ch

Contact
Last modification 11.05.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Hydrology Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Papiermühlestrasse 172, 3063 Ittigen

Tel.: +41 58 463 85 68
Fax: +41 58 464 76 81

E-mail 

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/hydrology-division/hydrometry-section.html