Biotechnology Section

The section

  • is responsible for the implementation of the Biodiversity Convention in the area of genetic resources;
  • is responsible for the development and implementation of environmental regulations in the area of biotechnology and gene technology;
  • deals with issues associated with the safe, sustainable use of biotechnology and gene technology including the issue of bioethics;
  • functions as national focal point for all international activities in the area of environmental biosafety, in particular for the OECD and the Convention on Biodiversity;
  • is responsible for the development and implementation of the Environment Protection Law in the area of pathogens and non-native organisms.

Topics:

Personnel

Anne-Gabrielle Wust Saucy

Anne-Gabrielle Wust Saucy
Position: head of section
Responsibilities: planification and management, National Focal Point to the Cartagena Protocol
Tel.: +41 58 463 83 44
E-mail: annegabrielle.wuestsaucy@bafu.admin.ch

Basil Gerber
Position: deputy head of section
Responsibilities: Monitoring of alien mosquitoes, notifications and authorisations ContainO
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 50
E-mail: basil.gerber@bafu.admin.ch

Franziska Bosshard
Responsibilities:
National Focal Point to the Nagoya Protocol, implementation and notifications NagO
Tel.: +41 58 463 92 68
E-mail: franziska.bosshard@bafu.admin.ch

Bernadette Guenot
Responsibilities:
Notifications and authorisations ContainO and RO, Curriculum Biosafety
Tel.: +41 58 462 93 28
E-mail: bernadette.guenot@bafu.admin.ch

Min Hahn
Responsibilities:
Implementation and notifications NagO, authorisations RO
Tel.: +41 58 46 979 21
E-mail: min.hahn@bafu.admin.ch

Andrea Johner
Responsibilities: Federal Coordination Center for Biotechnology, Ecogen
Tel.: +41 58 46 502 26
E-mail: andrea.johner@bafu.admin.ch

Christoph Lüthi
Responsibilities: Implementation and notifications CartO, regulation of new genetic modification techniques
Tel.: +41 58 469 64 15
E-mail: christoph.luethi@bafu.admin.ch

Graziella Mazza
Responsibilities:
Notifications and authorisations ContainO, enforcement aids ContainO
Tel.: +41 58 463 74 13
E-mail: graziella.mazza@bafu.admin.ch

Chantal Planchamp
Responsibilities:
Notifications and authorisations ContainO, biocides and plant protection products with organisms
Tel.: +41 58 463 45 89
E-mail: chantal.planchamp@bafu.admin.ch

Ursula Rumpel
Responsibilities:
Federal Coordination Center for Biotechnology
Tel.: +41 58 463 27 71
E-mail: ursula.rumpel@bafu.admin.ch

Jan Zünd
Responsibilities:
GMO monitoring, Federal Coordination Center for Biotechnology
Tel.: +41 58 462 20 82
E-mail: jan.zuend@bafu.admin.ch

Contact
Last modification 03.04.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Soil and Biotechnology Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Worblentalstrasse 68, 3063 Ittigen

Tel.: +41 58 462 93 49
Fax: +41 58 464 79 78

E-mail Soil 
E-mail Contaminated sites
E-mail Biotechnology

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/soil-and-biotechnology-division/biotechnology-section.html