Wildlife and forest biodiversity Section

This section

  • ensures the protection of indigenous mammals and birds, and their habitats (enforcement of the Hunting Act)
  • is responsible for Swiss game reserves and aquatic and migratory bird reserves of national and international importance
  • develops action plans and guidelines for wildlife management
  • provides for sustainable hunting
  • is responsible for forest biodiversity
  • promotes biological diversity in the forest with the cantons
  • prepares statistics on wildlife stocks and hunting kill in Switzerland
  • organises professional development courses for game and forest wardens

Section topics:

Personnel

Reinhard Schnidrig

Reinhard Schnidrig
Position: head of section, deputy head of divison
Responsibilities: Management of the section, coordination of programme agreements, large predator management, handling of international affairs
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 07
E-mail: reinhard.schnidrig@bafu.admin.ch

Martin Baumann
Position:
deputy head of section
Responsibilities: Hunting legislation, flock protection, ungulates
Tel.: +41 58 464 78 33
E-mail: martin.baumann@bafu.admin.ch

Nicolas Bourquin
Responsibilities: Hunting statistics, flock protection, ungulates management
Tel.: +41 58 462 80 13
E-mail: nicolas.bourquin@bafu.admin.ch

Claudio De Sassi
Responsibilities: Forest biodiversity, forest reserves (Programme agreements, effectiveness controlling)
Tel.: +41 58 469 30 24
E-mail: claudio.de-sassi@bafu.admin.ch

Thomas Gerner
Responsibilities: Wildlife refuge zones, animal health, animal protection, game reserve boundaries
Tel.: +41 58 464 78 48
E-mail: thomas.gerner@bafu.admin.ch

Sabine Herzog
Responsibilities: Protected areas under Hunting Act and Forest Act, programme agreements for wildlife and aquatic bird reserves, subsidies under HuntA, handling of international affairs
Tel.: +41 58 463 03 40
E-mail: sabine.herzog@bafu.admin.ch

Mirjam Pewsner
Responsibilities: Mammals, beaver management, neozoa
Tel.: +41 58 46 938 43
E-Mail: Mirjam.Pewsner@bafu.admin.ch

Bruno Stadler
Responsibilities: Birds, forest biodiversity, wildlife in residential areas
Tel.: +41 58 465 57 14
E-mail: bruno.stadler@bafu.admin.ch

Claudine Winter
Responsibilities: forest biodiversity, ungulates management
Tel.: +41 58 464 70 18
E-mail: claudine.winter@bafu.admin.ch

Contact
Last modification 02.09.2016

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Species, Ecosystems, Landscapes Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Worblentalstrasse 68, 3063 Ittigen

Tel.: +41 58 462 93 89
Fax: +41 58 463 89 74

E-mail 

Print contact

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/office/divisions-sections/species--ecosystems--landscapes-division/wildlife-and-forest-biodiversity-section.html