Groundwater levels and spring discharges

While groundwater levels and spring discharges in Switzerland are stable in the long term, they fluctuate throughout the year on account of the cumulative amount of precipitation in the preceding months. Groundwater quantity usually varies across regions from year to year, and changes in levels are subject to a certain time delay depending on weather conditions.

Infiltration from river water is primarily responsible for groundwater levels in the unconsolidated aquifer reservoirs in the broad flood plains of the rivers Rhone, Aare, Ticino, Reuss, Limmat, Thur and Rhine. In the unconsolidated and consolidated rock in other regions, groundwater is formed predominantly from melt water or rainwater runoff, depending on the elevation. During dry periods, groundwater widely feeds the smaller rivers of the Swiss Plateau. The variable recharge conditions and the interrelationship between surface water and groundwater cause typical seasonal fluctuations in groundwater levels and spring discharges. Groundwater use, land use, soil improvement, construction and climate change can all have an impact on the status and trend of groundwater levels and spring discharges.

Groundwater levels reflect the weather conditions

Groundwater levels and spring discharges across the country are continually recorded at around 100 NAQUA National Groundwater Monitoring sites. The levels reflect the weather conditions on the surface, though in attenuated form and subject to a time delay. Long periods of precipitation – especially in winter – increase groundwater recharge. In contrast, sustained periods of drought – particularly in summer and autumn – can result in low groundwater levels and spring discharge, thus affecting the groundwater quantity.

Long-term trend is stable

Long-term weather patterns (temperature and precipitation) in Switzerland are often correlated with periodic fluctuations in groundwater levels lasting for several years, entailing a regular succession of low and high water situations. Within this general pattern, significant regional differences are the norm.

In recent times, the dry years of 2011, 2015, 2018, 2019 and 2020 in particular led to low groundwater levels and spring discharges. In contrast, years with above-average amounts of precipitation (e.g. 1999–2002, 2021) resulted in generally high groundwater levels and spring discharges.

The difference in high and low water situations varies depending on the particular features of the aquifer. For example, groundwater resources connected to watercourses react quickly to heavy precipitation, whereas deeper groundwater resources often do not react to individual rainfall and only show a slight change in level after a few months of prolonged rainfall or drought.

High 2021: 35 Normal 2021: 50 Low 2021: 15 High 2020: 21 Normal 2020: 53 Low 2020: 26 High 2019: 17 Normal 2019: 51 Low 2019: 32 High 2018: 17 Normal 2018: 51 Low 2018: 32 High 2017: 7 Normal 2017: 63 Low 2017: 30 High 2016: 25 Normal 2016: 59 Low 2016: 16 High 2015: 12 Normal 2015: 72 Low 2015: 16 High 2014: 20 Normal 2014: 75 Low 2014: 5 High 2013: 21 Normal 2013: 75 Low 2013: 4 High 2012: 16 Normal 2012: 72 Low 2012: 12 High 2011: 4 Normal 2011: 63 Low 2011: 33 High 2010: 14 Normal 2010: 59 Low 2010: 27 High 2009: 13 Normal 2009: 67 Low 2009: 20 High 2008: 19 Normal 2008: 69 Low 2008: 12 High 2007: 24 Normal 2007: 62 Low 2007: 14 High 2006: 23 Normal 2006: 50 Low 2006: 27 High 2005: 9 Normal 2005: 43 Low 2005: 48 High 2004: 9 Normal 2004: 66 Low 2004: 25 High 2003: 15 Normal 2003: 49 Low 2003: 36 High 2002: 30 Normal 2002: 60 Low 2002: 10 High 2001: 48 Normal 2001: 48 Low 2001: 4 High 2000: 29 Normal 2000: 62 Low 2000: 9 High 1999: 41 Normal 1999: 47 Low 1999: 12 High 1998: 9 Normal 1998: 47 Low 1998: 44 High 1997: 8 Normal 1997: 61 Low 1997: 31 High 1996: 10 Normal 1996: 63 Low 1996: 27 High 1995: 37 Normal 1995: 48 Low 1995: 15
Percentage of monitoring stations at which low, normal and high groundwater levels and/or spring discharge rates were recorded in each year.

Data for the graph: Excel
Source: Federal Office for the Environment

Further information

Contact
Last modification 17.05.2022

Top of page

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/themen/thema-wasser/wasser--fachinformationen/zustand-der-gewaesser/zustand-des-grundwassers/grundwasser-quantitaet/grundwasserstaende-und-quellabfluesse.html

Niveaux des eaux souterraines et débits des sources

En Suisse, les niveaux des eaux souterraines et les débits des sources restent stables à long terme. Ils varient dans le courant de l’année selon les régions et en fonction des précipitations des mois précédents. L’évolution de la quantité des eaux souterraines au fil des ans diffère d’une région à l’autre et reflète les conditions météorologiques après un certain temps de latence.

Les eaux souterraines en roches meubles des grandes plaines du Rhône, de l’Aar, du Tessin, de la Reuss, de la Limmat, de la Thur et du Rhin sont, en grande partie, alimentées par l’infiltration des cours d’eau. S’agissant des eaux souterraines des aquifères en roches meubles et en roches cohérentes des autres régions, l’alimentation se fait essentiellement par infiltration des eaux de pluie et de celles provenant de la fonte des neiges, en fonction de l’altitude. Lorsqu’il n’y a pas de précipitations, les eaux souterraines alimentent les petits cours d’eau du Plateau. Les conditions changeantes en matière de recharge des eaux souterraines et d’interaction entre ces dernières et les eaux de surface sont à l’origine des variations saisonnières typiques que subissent les niveaux des eaux souterraines et les débits des sources. L’exploitation des eaux souterraines, l’utilisation des sols, les améliorations foncières, les constructions ainsi que les changements climatiques peuvent également avoir des effets sur l’état et l’évolution des niveaux des eaux souterraines et des débits des sources.

État actuel des eaux, reflet des conditions météorologiques

Les niveaux des eaux souterraines et les débits des sources sont mesurés en continu dans tout le pays, auprès d’une centaine de stations de mesure NAQUA. Ils renvoient une image atténuée et en différé des conditions météorologiques à la surface. Les précipitations persistantes, notamment en hiver, favorisent la recharge des eaux souterraines. À l’inverse, les longues périodes de sécheresse, en été et en automne surtout, diminuent les niveaux des eaux souterraines et les débits des sources. Ces facteurs déterminent la quantité des eaux souterraines.

Évolution stable à long terme

La Suisse connaît souvent des variations pluriannuelles plus ou moins fréquentes, selon les tendances météorologiques à long terme (température et précipitations). Les eaux souterraines subissent ainsi une alternance des périodes prolongées de niveaux bas et de niveaux élevés. Ces périodes de plusieurs années sont toutefois marquées par de nettes différences régionales.

À la suite des années sèches 2011, 2015, 2018, 2019 et 2020, les eaux souterraines et les débits des sources ont affiché des valeurs basses pendant une certaine durée. En revanche, lors d’années marquées par des précipitations supérieures à la moyenne, les niveaux des eaux souterraines et les débits des sources ont été élevés (p. ex. 1999 à 2002, 2021).

Selon les caractéristiques de l’aquifère, les niveaux des eaux souterraines et les débits des sources peuvent afficher des valeurs plus ou moins marquées. Ainsi, les eaux souterraines reliées à un cours d’eau réagissent rapidement aux précipitations abondantes. Plus en profondeur en revanche, un événement de précipitations isolées ne se fait souvent guère sentir, et il faut plusieurs mois pour y détecter une réaction, même atténuée, à une période de précipitations ou de sécheresse.

Elevé 2021: 35 Normal 2021: 50 Bas 2021: 15 Elevé 2020: 21 Normal 2020: 53 Bas 2020: 26 Elevé 2019: 17 Normal 2019: 51 Bas 2019: 32 Elevé 2018: 17 Normal 2018: 51 Bas 2018: 32 Elevé 2017: 7 Normal 2017: 63 Bas 2017: 30 Elevé 2016: 25 Normal 2016: 59 Bas 2016: 16 Elevé 2015: 12 Normal 2015: 72 Bas 2015: 16 Elevé 2014: 20 Normal 2014: 75 Bas 2014: 5 Elevé 2013: 21 Normal 2013: 75 Bas 2013: 4 Elevé 2012: 16 Normal 2012: 72 Bas 2012: 12 Elevé 2011: 4 Normal 2011: 63 Bas 2011: 33 Elevé 2010: 14 Normal 2010: 59 Bas 2010: 27 Elevé 2009: 13 Normal 2009: 67 Bas 2009: 20 Elevé 2008: 19 Normal 2008: 69 Bas 2008: 12 Elevé 2007: 24 Normal 2007: 62 Bas 2007: 14 Elevé 2006: 23 Normal 2006: 50 Bas 2006: 27 Elevé 2005: 9 Normal 2005: 43 Bas 2005: 48 Elevé 2004: 9 Normal 2004: 66 Bas 2004: 25 Elevé 2003: 15 Normal 2003: 49 Bas 2003: 36 Elevé 2002: 30 Normal 2002: 60 Bas 2002: 10 Elevé 2001: 48 Normal 2001: 48 Bas 2001: 4 Elevé 2000: 29 Normal 2000: 62 Bas 2000: 9 Elevé 1999: 41 Normal 1999: 47 Bas 1999: 12 Elevé 1998: 9 Normal 1998: 47 Bas 1998: 44 Elevé 1997: 8 Normal 1997: 61 Bas 1997: 31 Elevé 1996: 10 Normal 1996: 63 Bas 1996: 27 Elevé 1995: 37 Normal 1995: 48 Bas 1995: 15
Pourcentage des stations ayant mesuré des niveaux ou des débits bas, normaux ou élevés au cours de l’année considérée.

Données du graphique: Excel
Source: Office fédéral de l’environnement

Informations complémentaires

Contact
Dernière modification 17.05.2022

Début de la page

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/fr/home/themen/thema-wasser/wasser--fachinformationen/zustand-der-gewaesser/zustand-des-grundwassers/grundwasser-quantitaet/grundwasserstaende-und-quellabfluesse.html