Water Division


  • Protection of surface waters, groundwater and drinking water
  • Drainage of the built environment and traffic areas
  • Wastewater treatment
  • Quality assurance of the water bodies based on the NAQUA, NADUF, NAWA and BAQUA monitoring programmes
  • Water body protection and agriculture (structural and substance-based water protection; nitrate, phosphate, plant protection products)
  • Revitalization and clearance of the aquatic environment
  • Water resource and water body control
  • Hydropower rehabilitation (fish migration, hydropeaking, bed load, residual flows)
  • Bed load rehabilitation
  • Representing Switzerland’s interests in international water protection and fisheries commissions
The division is responsible for the topics:

The division consists of:

Last modification 01.05.2020

Top of page


Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Water Division

Postal address:
CH-3003 Bern

Location of our offices:
Monbijoustrasse 40, 3003 Bern

Tel.: +41 58 462 69 69


Print contact