Foundations of flood forecasting in meso-scale catchment areas of Switzerland

A comprehensive flood assessment model based on long-term simulations is now available for the Rhine River catchment area. The results of the model for 450 catchment areas can be consulted on the Web site of the University of Bern.

The simple estimation process that is most commonly used provides no other information than peak flow and does not take into account important flood parameters such as flow volume and rise time. To achieve more comprehensive design foundations, stronger process-oriented approaches are necessary. These types of approaches provide information about floods and much more.

The comprehensive flood assessment for unmeasured catchment areas is based on a continuous long-term simulation approach. In this approach, a hydrological model system is used to carry out a continuous simulation over a long period of time - in this case over at least 20 years and at an hourly resolution. The simulated long-term flow data series can then be interpreted with conventional extreme value statistics, among other things, and used to forecast floods.

The results of the modelling process are now available for 450 meso-scale and mostly unmeasured catchment areas in the Swiss Rhine River catchment area.

Not suitable for all applications

Regions with an area of less than 40 km2 show a clear tendency toward underestimating the HQ100. Evaluating the results for an area of less than 25 km2 is definitely not advised. In addition to the size of the catchment areas, karst landscapes also limit its use.

Combining several methods provides additional information

By combining established and new processes and performing a comparatively evaluation of the results, significantly more information can be obtained to estimate rare flood discharges in unmeasured regions.

Experience with the "HQx_meso_CH" programme has shown that the comparative use of different processes provides valuable evidence for estimation and generally leads to more reliable findings than using individual processes alone.

Documenting and obtaining the model results

The method was developed at the Institute of Geography of the University of Bern on behalf of the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and was described at length in two publications.

The report, data and results are available on the Web site of the University of Bern:

Contact
Last modification 15.11.2019

Top of page

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/themen/thema-wasser/wasser--daten--indikatoren-und-karten/wasser--methoden/grundlagen-zur-hochwasserabschaetzung-in-mesoskaligen-einzugsgeb.html

Bases pour l’évaluation des crues dans les bassins versants de surface moyenne en Suisse

Une évaluation globale des crues fondée sur des simulations à long terme a été réalisée pour le bassin versant du Rhin. Les résultats modélisés pour 450 bassins versants sont consultables sur le site Internet de l’Université de Berne.

Les méthodes courantes d’évaluation des crues se fondent exclusivement sur le dé-bit de pointe. D'autres indicateurs essentiels tels que le volume d’eau écoulé et la vitesse de montée des eaux ne sont pas pris en compte. Le développement de bases d’évaluation plus complètes passe donc par l’application d’une approche da-vantage axée sur les processus, qui dépasse largement le domaine des crues.

L’évaluation globale des crues pour les bassins versants non jaugés se fonde sur une simulation continue à long terme : à l’aide d’un système de modélisation hydrolo-gique, un hydrogramme est simulé sur une période continue (au moins 20 ans dans le présent cas), avec une résolution horaire. Les séries de débits simulés peuvent être analysées au moyen de statistiques conventionnelles de valeurs extrêmes et être utilisées dans le cadre de l’estimation des crues.

Les résultats ont été modélisés pour 450 bassins versants de surface moyenne – pour la plupart non jaugés – situés dans la partie suisse du bassin versant du Rhin.

Restrictions pour certains bassins versants

Les bassins versants de moins de 40 km2 présentent un risque de sous-estimation de la valeur HQ100. Par conséquent, l'application de la méthode est fortement déconseillée pour les bassins versants dont la surface est inférieure à 25 km2. De plus, les importants milieux karstiques limitent également l'applicabilité de la méthode.

Combinaison de plusieurs méthodes pour de meilleurs résultats

L’estimation des débits de pointe rares dans les bassins versants non jaugés est plus pertinente lorsque l’on combine les méthodes conventionnelles et la nouvelle ap-proche et que l’on procède à une analyse comparée des résultats.

Les expériences réalisées avec le programme « HQx_meso_CH » ont montré que, par rapport à l’application d’une seule méthode, l’application combinée de différentes méthodes fournit aux experts de précieux éléments d’évaluation et accroît la fiabilité des résultats.

Documentation et consultation des résultats

La méthode, développée sur mandat de l’OFEV à l’Institut de géographie de l’Université de Berne (GIUB), est décrite en détail dans deux publications.

Le rapport, les données et les résultats sont disponibles sur le site Internet de l’Université de Berne :

Contact
Dernière modification 15.11.2019

Début de la page

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/fr/home/themen/thema-wasser/wasser--daten--indikatoren-und-karten/wasser--methoden/grundlagen-zur-hochwasserabschaetzung-in-mesoskaligen-einzugsgeb.html