Environmental research

In dealing with environmental policy tasks, it is essential to be able to draw on the results of an adequate body of research. The FOEN is responsible for making available an action- and practice-oriented basis for environmental policy decisions. As the FOEN has no research facilities of its own, it cooperates closely with external specialists, awarding research contracts to the Federal Institutes of Technology, cantonal universities, universities of applied sciences, research institutes and private-sector organizations.


Mandate and objectives

The FOEN's environmental research forms an essential basis for efficient and effective environmental and resource policy. It provides the principles on which measures can be taken, and is designed to enable new environmental problems to be identified early, to develop innovative environmentally and resouce-friendly technologies, and to demonstrate the opportunities and risks of new technologies. The FOEN has a research budget of approx. CHF 15 million per year.

Research as a federal task

A sound scientific basis is indispensable for federal government activities. Research sponsored by the Federal Administration for this purpose comes under the heading of "targeted" research. The legal basis is provided by Art. 16 of the Research and Innovation Promotion Act (RIPA, SR 420.1; in French/German/Italian).

Environmental research is specifically mandated by the Environmental Protection Act (Art. 49 Para. 2). In other Acts and Ordinances, there are specific research responsibilities mentioned (e.g. legislation on water protection, nature and cultural heritage protection, forests, hydrological engineering).

Basic principles of federal departmental research

For planning purposes, departmental research is divided into research sectors, which can embrace the areas of competence of various federal agencies. The "Environment" research sector is one of a total of 11 policy areas in which research programmes are periodically drawn up. The FOEN is in charge of the elaboration of the Research Master Plan ENVIRONMENT. 

The principal responsibility for departmental research on environmental issues lies with the FOEN. Key contributions to departmental research on environmental issues are also made by, for example:

  • the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH),
  • the Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG),
  • the Federal Office of Energy (SFOE), and
  • MeteoSwiss.
  • The Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE)

Objectives of FOEN environmental research (departmental research)

  • to create the basis for effective and efficient environmental and resource policy
  • to develop practical proposals for solving environmental problems and implementing policy measures
  • to enable the early identification of environmental problems
  • to integrate environmental concerns into other policy areas
  • to evaluate the opportunities and risks of new technologies

Funding of research and development

The FOEN has no research facilities of its own. The resources available to the Office for environmental research purposes are used to fund research contracted out to universities, Federal Institutes of Technology, research institutes and the private sector, and to support important third-party research studies and projects (e.g. specific projects from the National Research Programmes and National Centres of Competence in Research run by the Swiss National Science Foundation). 

The FOEN has a budget of approx. CHF 15 million per year for initiating and controlling priority environmental research projects.

All research and development contracts are recorded in the ARAMIS research database.


Scientific advisory group

Consulting group of the FOEN for Environmental Research (OFU/ORE)

The OFU/ORE is an important environmental research partner for the FOEN. This consulting group was established by the FOEN in 2007 to support and promote environmental research. The OFU/ORE serves as a platform for the exchange of information between researchers, funding bodies and those interested in the results of the research. It also advises the FOEN on drawing up and implementing the Master Plan for Research.

Consulting group of the FOEN for Environmental Research (OFU/ORE) - Composition (PDF, 143 kB, 03.02.2020)The group is chaired by Martine Rebetez, Professor at the University of Neuchâtel and WSL.

Mandate of the OFU/ORE (in German) (PDF, 147 kB, 15.03.2013)The work of the OFU/ORE is based on a mandate from the FOEN.

Further information

Contact
Last modification 03.02.2020

Top of page

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/themen/thema-bildung-forschung-innovation/umweltforschung.html

Umweltforschung

Für die Bewältigung der Aufgaben der Umweltpolitik sind ausreichende Forschungsergebnisse unerlässlich. Die Aufgabe des BAFU ist es, handlungs- und praxisorientierte Grundlagen für umweltpolitische Entscheide bereitzustellen. Das BAFU verfügt über keine eigenen Forschungseinrichtungen. Es arbeitet deshalb durch die Vergabe von Forschungsaufträgen mit externen Fachleuten aus Hochschulen, Universitäten, Fachhochschulen, Forschungsanstalten und privaten Institutionen eng zusammen.


Auftrag und Ziel

Die Umweltforschung des BAFU bildet eine wichtige Basis für eine wirksame und effiziente Umwelt- und Ressourcenpolitik. Sie liefert die Grundlagen für Massnahmen und hat zudem die Aufgabe neue Umweltprobleme frühzeitig zu erkennen, innovative umwelt- und ressourcenschonende Technologien zu entwickeln sowie Chancen und Risiken von neuen Technologien aufzuzeigen. Das BAFU verfügt dafür über ein Budget von ca. 15 Millionen Franken pro Jahr.

Forschung als Bundesaufgabe

Für die Tätigkeit des Bundes sind fundierte wissenschaftliche Grundlagen zwingend erforderlich. Die von der Bundesverwaltung zu diesem Zweck unterstützte Forschung gehört somit in den Bereich der Ressortforschung. Gesetzliche Grundlage ist das Forschungs- und Innovationsförderungsgesetz FIFG (Art. 16).

Für die Umweltforschung wird im Umweltschutzgesetz (Art. 49 Abs. 2) ein besonderer Forschungsauftrag erteilt. In weiteren Gesetzen und Verordnungen werden ebenfalls spezifische Forschungsaufgaben genannt (z.B. Gesetze zum Gewässerschutz, Natur- und Heimatschutz, Wald, Wasserbau).

Grundsätze für die Forschung der Bundesverwaltung (Ressortforschung)

Die Planung der Ressortforschung erfolgt nach Forschungsbereichen, die den Zuständigkeitsbereich verschiedener Bundesstellen umfassen können. Der Bereich "Umweltforschung" ist einer von insgesamt 11 Politikbereichen, die periodisch Forschungskonzepte erstellen. Das BAFU ist zuständig für die Erstellung des Forschungskonzept UMWELT.

Hauptverantwortlich für die Ressortforschung Umwelt ist das BAFU. Weitere wichtige Beiträge zur Ressortforschung im Bereich Umwelt leisten u.a.

  • das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG),
  • das Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft (BLW),
  • das Bundesamt für Energie (BFE),
  • MeteoSchweiz
  • das Bundesamt für Raumentwicklung (ARE)

Ziele der Umweltforschung des BAFU (Ressortforschung)

  • Schaffung der Grundlagen für eine wirksame und effiziente Umwelt- und Ressourcenpolitik
  • Erarbeitung von praxisgerechten Vorschlägen zur Lösung von Umweltproblemen und für die Umsetzung von Massnahmen
  • Früherkennung von Umweltproblemen
  • Integration der Umweltaspekte in andere Politikbereiche
  • Bewertung von Chancen und Risiken neuer Technologien

Finanzierung von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufträgen

Das BAFU verfügt über keine eigenen Forschungseinrichtungen. Die Mittel, die dem Amt für Umweltforschungszwecke zur Verfügung stehen, werden für die Vergabe von Forschungsaufträgen an Universitäten, Eidg. Technische Hochschulen, Fachhochschulen, Forschungsanstalten und an Private verwendet sowie für die Unterstützung von wichtigen Forschungsarbeiten und Projekten Dritter (z.B. spezifische Projekte aus dem Nationalen Forschungsprogramm NFP und den Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkten NFS des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds).

Für die Initiierung und Steuerung prioritärer Forschungsvorhaben im Umweltbereich verfügt das BAFU über ein Budget von ca. 15 Millionen Franken pro Jahr.

Sämtliche Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufträge werden in der Forschungsdatenbank ARAMIS geführt.


Wissenschaftliche Begleitgruppe

Beratendes Organ des BAFU für Umweltforschung (OFU)

Das OFU/ORE ist ein wichtiger Partner des BAFU in der Umweltforschung. Das BAFU hat dieses Organ im März 2007 mit der Begleitung und Förderung der Umweltforschung beauftragt. Das OFU versteht sich als Plattform für den Informationsaustausch zwischen den Forschenden, der Forschungsförderung und den an den Forschungsresultaten interessierten Kreisen. Zudem berät es das BAFU bei der Erarbeitung und Umsetzung des Forschungskonzeptes.

Beratendes Organ des BAFU für Umweltforschung (OFU/ORE) - Zusammensetzung (PDF, 143 kB, 03.02.2020)Vorsitzende ist Martine Rebetez, Professorin an der Universität Neuchâtel und WSL.

Mandat des OFU (PDF, 147 kB, 15.03.2013)Der Arbeit des OFU liegt ein Mandat des BAFU zugrunde.

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 03.02.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/de/home/themen/thema-bildung-forschung-innovation/umweltforschung.html