CO2 levy

The CO2 levy is a key instrument to achieving statutory CO2 emission targets. This incentive tax on fossil combustible fuels, such as heating oil and natural gas, has been levied since 2008. In making fossil fuels more expensive, it creates an incentive to use them more economically and choose more carbon-neutral or low carbon energy sources.

Two-thirds of the revenue from the levy is redistributed annually to the public and the economy independently of consumption. One-third (max. CHF 450 million) is invested in the buildings programme to promote CO2-reduction measures such as, e.g., energy-efficient renovations or renewable energies. Another CHF 25 million is provided to the technology fund.

CO2-intensive companies can be exempted from the CO2 levy if they commit to reducing emissions in return. Large energy-intensive companies participate in the emissions trading scheme and are also exempt from the CO2 levy.

More information on the topic CO2 levy is available in German, French and Italian

Imposition of the CO2 levy on fuels

The CO2 levy is imposed on all fossil heating and process fuels (e.g., heating oil, natural gas). As of 2018, it is CHF 96 per tonne CO2. The CO2 levy is indicated on invoices for purchases of thermal fuels.

Redistribution of the CO2 levy

Around two thirds of the revenue from the CO2 levy is redistributed to the public and the business community through health insurers and the OASI compensation offices.

Exemption from the CO2 levy

Greenhouse gas-intensive companies can be exempted from the CO2 levy if they commit to a reduction in their greenhouse gas emissions in return. Large greenhouse gas-intensive companies that participate in the emissions trading scheme are also exempted from the CO2 levy.

Refund of the CO2 levy paid

Anyone who purchases fossil thermal fuels automatically pays the CO2 levy. Companies exempted from the levy can request a refund of the tax paid from the Federal Customs Administration FCA.

Further information

Contact
Last modification 28.09.2018

Top of page

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/en/home/themen/thema-klima/klimawandel-stoppen-und-folgen-meistern/schweizer-klimapolitik/co2-abgabe.html

CO2-Abgabe

Seit 2008 wird auf fossilen Brennstoffen wie Heizöl oder Erdgas eine Lenkungsabgabe erhoben. Sie setzt Anreize zum sparsamen Verbrauch und zum vermehrten Einsatz klimafreundlicher Energieträger. Der Ertrag wird grösstenteils an die Bevölkerung und die Wirtschaft zurückverteilt. Davon profitiert, wer wenig verbraucht.

Jährlich werden rund zwei Drittel der Abgabeerträge verbrauchsunabhängig an Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft zurückverteilt. Ein Drittel (max. 450 Mio. Franken) fliesst in das Gebäudeprogramm zur Förderung CO2-wirksamer Massnahmen wie z.B. energetischer Sanierungen oder erneuerbarer Energien. Weitere 25 Mio. Franken kommen dem Technologiefonds zu.

Betreiber treibausgasintensiver Anlagen können sich von der Abgabe befreien lassen, wenn sie sich im Gegenzug zu einer Emissionsverminderung verpflichten. Betreiber grosser treibhausgasintensiver Anlagen sind ins Emissionshandelssystem eingebunden und sind ebenfalls von der CO2-Abgabe befreit.

Erhebung

Die CO2-Abgabe wird auf alle fossilen Brennstoffe (z.B. Heizöl, Erdgas) erhoben. Seit 2018 beträgt sie 96 Franken pro Tonne CO2. Die CO2-Abgabe ist auf den Rechnungen für Brennstoffkäufe ausgewiesen.

Rückverteilung

Rund zwei Drittel der Erträge aus der CO2-Abgabe werden an die Bevölkerung und die Wirtschaft zurückverteilt. Dieser Mechanismus begünstigt diejenigen, die wenig fossile Brennstoffe verbrauchen.

Befreiung

Treibhausgasintensive Anlagen werden von der CO2-Abgabe befreit, wenn sie sich im Gegenzug zu einer Verminderung ihrer Treibhausgasemissionen verpflichten. Betreiber grosser treibhausgasintensiver Anlagen sind ins Emissionshandelssystem eingebunden und sind ebenfalls befreit.

Rückerstattung

Wer fossile Brennstoffe einkauft, bezahlt automatisch die CO2-Abgabe. Abgabebefreite Unternehmen können die Abgabe bei der Eidgenössischen Zollverwaltung EZV zurückfordern.

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 29.12.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bafu.admin.ch/content/bafu/de/home/themen/thema-klima/klimawandel-stoppen-und-folgen-meistern/schweizer-klimapolitik/co2-abgabe.html